So, I tried something today, and failed miserably.  It was pretty goddamned epic – I took about three pieces of logic and hammered them together in a bastardization of rationale, and made up a Brilliant Idea of Genius ™, which would undoubtedly result in a Revolution in the Field (also tm) due to my Unparalleled Creativity and Amazingness (did I mention tm?)!

 

Naturally, I created a hideous mess and a stench of deep fried roses.  The house is still pretty damned rank.  It’s nearly unlivable, and I’m actually kind of lucky I didn’t murder us all with the fumes of my egotistical stupidity.  On the bright side, at least this time I wasn’t doing anything that involved gasoline.

 

Yet.

 

So, I’m sitting here, stoned on flowers, and trying to come up with some great moral, some silver lining, some reason that this enormous clusterfuck needed to happen, so that I can feel better about having made said hideous mess and stunk up the house.  And the moral of the story, O Best Beloved, is this:

 

Even when you fuck up royally, you end up with a recipe for deep fried roses.  Which, if you don’t burn the fuck out of them, could probably be pretty tasty, if very strange.  Next time I may batter them, and declare myself the ultimate Redneck Hippie.  And the other moral, the one I like better, is this: not everything has to have a moral.  Sometimes you just fuck up, because you didn’t think things through well enough, and you end up with a house that stinks and a day that irritates you, and you learn and move on.  There is no greater reason or purpose; you salvage what you can out of the mess (see: deep fried roses) to make yourself feel better, and then you try it again once you can stand the smell of flowers.

 

I write a lot here about big sweeping ideals and grand philosophies, but the ones that matter the most, I think, are the ones that do not have grand ideals and do not make good sound bytes or good rallying cries.  “Stop bitching and get on with it” is not a good slogan.  “So you screwed up; so what?” is not a great motivational speech hook.  But, realistically, they are the things that lead me through the day to day life that makes room for the big sweeping philosophies and adrenaline-pumping rallying cries, and so they are, metaphorically, the day job that pays for the interesting hobbies.  It’s a tradeoff – do the boring everyday work of getting on with it, and you’ll have the room to spout off about ideals and should-bes.

