“There were so many things I wanted to say.  Things like Thank you, or even, I love you.

Because I do.  We are lonely creatures, we hunters.  We have to love each other.  We are the only ones who understand, the only ones who will ever understand.”

Lilith Saintcrow, Angel Town

 

It’s just the taste of blood, that’s all.  A little trickle, down the back of my throat.  It wouldn’t be so bad, if I could stop it.  I could stop it, I guess, if I really put my mind to it.  I can do anything, if I put my mind to it just right.

I just can’t seem to do it, this time.

It trickles, and tickles, and burns in the back of my throat.

I hope it was worth it.  I hope she got away.

Neither one of us expected anybody to be there.  We expected to get in clean, get out clean, and get paid, that’s all.  It’s not so much, for us.  We’ve been a pair so long nobody would ever even think about seeing one of us without the other.

I wonder if she got out clean.  I hope so.

That taste burns so bad, and it won’t go away.

I knew something was wrong when the alarm went off.  She was supposed to have taken care of it, and nothing like that has gone wrong in a good long while now.  She’s so damn good at her job I’ve stopped even thinking about it.  She’s my partner, my good right hand.  She’s the only one I’d trust my back to.

But then there was the shrieking, and the lights blaring, and I wasn’t even close to the payload, much less to getting out.  I screamed to her, screamed hard and loud as I could.

Get out, I said.  Get out and get clean.  I’ll be right behind you.

I’ll be right behind you.

I guess I wasn’t, after all.

The sirens are getting closer, and they’re going to pack me off, because I can’t get this taste out of my mouth.  Lucky shot, from some damn automated system.  Should have seen it coming.  Should have been watching my back.

I hope she listened.  I hope she got out.

The only way tasting this is worth it is if she got out.

I mean, we’re partners.

